The Three Runic Aettir

The 24 runes of the Elder Futhark are in their prescribed order for a reason. Each rune and each aett in turn is built upon a foundation of the runes that proceed it in a logical and methodical pattern. Beware of authors that rearrange the runes into new random patterns and claim it’s due to their being “enlightened”. The organization and arrangement of the Elder Futhark has been in use and in place for 3,000 years. Even the name “Futhark” is a representation of the first six runes of the first aett.

The runes of the Elder Futhark are divided into three groups of eight runes each. Each group is called an Aett.

The first group, aett, is associated with the Goddess Freyja. This aett symbolizes the creation of the universe, order out of chaos, and the creation of all things.

The second aett is named after the God Heimdall. This aett is about the disruptive forces that cause great change in the energies established in the first aett.

The third aett is called Tiwaz’s aett after the God Tyr. This aett is essentially about the gods and divinity.

This entry was posted in Aettir, Runes. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Three Runic Aettir

  1. Ásatrú, Misticismo & Liberdade says:

    Reblogged this on Ásatrú & Liberdade.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s